Reviewer: maniacgirl007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2010 7:58 pm Title: Chapter 17

OH LASSSSSSSSIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE *masiive hugs* You are toooooooooooooo sweet *smishes* But *le gasp* POOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRR SHAWN AND GUS!!!!!!!!!!!!! GUH!!!!!!!!!!!! So much is going on in this story. I just LOVE it. I can't wait for an update XD

Reviewer: thekk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2010 7:52 pm Title: Chapter 17

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Darn the suspense of this story! lol So, so good! I'm on the edge of my seat over here! :D

Author's Response: =D  I'm glad you're enjoying the suspense! It's fun to write, too, and it's nice to know it's coming across well. ;D  Thanks for the reviews!!

Reviewer: skylucy Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2010 7:48 pm Title: Chapter 17

Wonderful chapter and thank you so much for updating--but once again, please, please update soon! I'm so glad that I don't know about how this venom works but it can't be good that Shawn is already bleeding badly. I really hope you update by the weekend!

Reviewer: kaidiii Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2010 3:54 pm Title: Chapter 1

WOW!Brilliat chapters! Very exciting! Good luck it be OK!

Reviewer: Lost Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2010 1:12 pm Title: Chapter 16

HOLY CRAP HOLY CRAP HOLY CRAP HOLY -- WHAT THE HELL?! YOU CAN'T--

I find it interesting that you managed to whump Shawn, Gus, Jules, Lassie, and Henry all in the same story.

Have I mentioned that I love it? Oh, yeah. I should log in and give you a proper review, but, man, I'm still reeling. Gimme some recovery time.

Oh, and one more thing: UPDATE LIKE NAO

Please. :P

Reviewer: Rose_Tree Signed [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2010 2:29 am Title: Chapter 16

Um, WTF -- did you just injure three characters in one chapter?? LOL. This story is awesome. And you better run! Or update really soon! Please!

Author's Response: I told a friend in the early parts of the story that it was going to be a smorgasbord of whump! xD  I'm glad you like the story, and yes, I had my running shoes and a helmet on at several ends of chapters... ;)  Thanks for your reviews!!

Reviewer: dragonnan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 28, 2010 2:09 am Title: Chapter 16

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

adsfgdfgjkhljkjkhjggdhFDGFHGJHKLJHGJGDHHFGJHK!!!!!!!!!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

*SOBZ AND WEEPS AND THROWS CATTLE AT YOU!!!*

WHY!!! WHY - HOW COULD YOU - AND SHAWN- BUT GUUS!!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!

You update right now, yes?? YES??  PLEASE SAY YES!!!!!!!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

And while my primitive brainz are carving stone weapons, my higher brain would like to interject that you have some of the most epic baddies/whumps in the WORLD!! There are only a few authors that can scatter my mind with a plot that is so much like a rich and delicious feast!  And on top of that all the piercing angstiness!!  LOVE Shawn suddenly losing it and convinced himz daddy is in dire peril! (which he IS, just not where Shawn thinks) And then Henry's panic and determination to get the antivenom!! GUUUUH!!!

The double-whammy cliffie literally gave me a chill cascade right through my chest!!  I'm tempted to call in sick the rest of the week so I can just stare at the screen for the next dose of this addictive drug!!



Author's Response: LOL  xD

Reviewer: silverluna Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 27, 2010 12:51 pm Title: Chapter 7

Love Henry's reluctance and Gus's defensiveness. Also love Henry is now on board to help; they really need all the good guys they can get to combat this awful poison of Morton & company. :O

Awwww, this is classic Henry so well done here:

And when he got himself into those situations, Henry's first reaction was always anger. Anger at his son's recklessness and anger at his own failure to train him better. Following on anger was the feeling of desperation. He was driven to jump in and make everything right again, and when that proved difficult, he was frustrated. Anger, desperation, frustration...the emotions of life with his son. 

Yes, this is exact perfect description of the Henry-Shawn relationship, and Henry's paternal drive. Those two are such opposites, but Henry really does love Shawn and it drives him crazy whenever Shawn is in trouble. 

Poor Shawn! I'm glad he still has his wits about him to think through all the details, and come to a conclusion where Hammond is too "small-time" for this kind of setup. Oooh, mysterious dark toner print in three places—and a records room search. :O I think Shawn is definitely onto something, though he doesn't yet know what. Keep it up, Shawn!

:O I swear, Morton and Maxwell are really dark side versions of Henry and Shawn:

He'd been hard on his son, training him and trying to make him tough, but Maxwell had never lived up to Morton's high standards. Bob wondered what his friend had seen between the psychic and his father. Whatever it had been had thrown salt on an old wound. And if Morton had spoken with Maxwell, and it had gone as Bob suspected, the wound though old had already been reopened, making it all the more painful. 

OMG I am even more scared then I was before:

Morton wasn't one to take pain kindly, no matter how inadvertently it was caused by this psychic kid and his father. If he was determined to call in Sinclair once more, it meant that Morton wasn't satisfied with just messing with the kid's business and discrediting him in order to torpedo the case against Maxwell. It meant that the kid was well and truly in for it now. The crosshairs of Morton's anger with his own son had come to settle on this Spencer kid and most likely anyone near him.


“So it's 'cry havoc' then?” asked Bob, mind racing to come up with plans to shield Morton from any backfires.


The old man nodded and turned his stone-cold gaze to Bob. “'Let slip the dogs of war,'” he said, finishing the quote and loosing any reins they'd had on the operation.

*black & white silent movie screaming* :O :O :O :O :O GUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH *briefly catatonic*

Holy O.o . . . I agree! This was a whole different animal, and it was apparently stalking them all. AWESOME way to put it!

I'm actually excited to see these four with all of their insane tension and discomfort for each other (especially given what has already happened so far) working together to figure this out! Lassiter parked by Juliet's bedside was so perfect! *squishes him*  He wasn't doing any good sitting in Juliet's room, as much as he wanted to continue doing so. AWWWWWWWWWWW.

Awwwwww. Shawn totally <3s Juliet. ;) Another awesome chapter!!!

 



Author's Response: Thanks so much for all of your awesome reviews!!  They are always made of the most awesomest of awesome that can be!! =D  I am really happy that you're liking the story.  You are one of the people who I always have in mind...we cult of Lassiter...when I'm writing.  My core audience, so to speak. ;D  So it's just so great to know when you (and the other cult members) enjoy my stories. =D  *hugs*  Thank you!!

Reviewer: silverluna Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: September 27, 2010 11:18 am Title: Chapter 6

Yes! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the beginning paragraphs with Lassiter sneaking into the police station, doing his best to convey his "I'm supposed to be here . . . even though I was totally blown up yesterday" face!!!! XD These are perfectly executed and I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE THEM!!!!! *SQUEEEEEEEEING* I love also that he is "driven by the need to learn the identity of the raggedy man" so much that he fights the pain of his own injuries. I also take this as how much he cares for his partner and what has happened to her—this is his best way of fighting back right now. Awwwwwww. Lassie is kind of squishy. ;) 

AWESOME, pure pure AWESOME:

He'd gotten up and dressed, unable to justify lying around any longer, then he'd gone to find Juliet. She was isolated in an intensive care room, but he'd been able to stand in the hallway and watch through a window in the door as she slept. He was only going to think of it as sleeping or resting, he'd decided. That's what it looked like, and the term “coma” had too many connotations he couldn't handle. So he watched her sleep until his doctor tracked him down and spoke with him about her condition and about his own. The man was nice enough, and Lassiter felt a little guilty about telling him he'd wait until the afternoon to talk about discharge again when he knew at the time he was going to walk out the doors as soon as he could. But, sometimes, in the name of justice, the truth had to be stretched.

Squishy Lassiter and In-the-name-of-justice Lassiter all mushed up together rock! :D

Oooh. Nice touch with the discussion with the custodian. !!! More clues for Lassiter to obsess about!! xD 

YES!!!! So spot-on Lassiter!!! He is definitely all work work work work work work work work work all the time!

He didn't have the patience to deal with his physical shortcomings and had always begrudged the time needed for healing. Crime didn't wait for boo-boos to get better. 

Lol, I love how the scene played out what Lassiter got caught by Vick; it had some nice undertones of "High Noon-ish". 

GAHHHHHHHH!!! Morton and Bob, staring at Lassiter with creepy smiles. :X 

He glanced around, looking for rescue or some kind of escape. He noticed two old men sitting on a bench near the front door, across from the reception desk. One of them was looking at him with an odd smile on his face, but then he decided he had to be imagining things. The old geezer wouldn't be able to see him from that far away, he figured. He looked back at the chief, trying to come up with more words to say when his salvation finally arrived in the form of a commotion erupting from the back door. Spencer's voice sounded out from the din.

Wait, what has Shawn done now?!!! :O

WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA WHOA OMG OMFG!!!!!!!!! Shawn . . . iPhone . . . Hammond . . . bank records . . . arrested . . . GUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! . . . 

He so often doubted what the psychic said, but he also found himself strangely reluctant to believe that he would burglarize the home of a suspect. He was irresponsible, but he wasn't THAT irresponsible. Was he?


“There's more, Chief,” said Baker. “I went to Mr. Spencer's office and found him there, sleeping. I also found this.” He held up another baggie with a bank statement inside.


The chief took the baggie and peered at the statement, then she turned an outraged look on Shawn. “This is Mr. Hammond's personal bank statement!”


Shawn's look of agony had turned to a decidedly sheepish look at that point. Lassiter's brain was spinning and he turned to find a chair nearby, easing into it as the implications of what was happening started to sink in. Their evidence against Hammond had been obtained illegally. That meant that almost their entire case against him was ruined. Lassiter felt the pool of anger inside rippling. He was angry at the man who had almost killed his partner. But the man was somehow connected to Hammond, even if it was only through the fact that he had used Hammond's car in the attack. If Shawn had done something to jeopardize that case, then what else could he have done?

And now, Lassiter is starting to his "proof" that Shawn *was* responsible somehow for getting Juliet blown up . . . OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!!!!! *system overload* This is getting way suspenseful-thriller scary here!!!!! . . . I LOVE IT!!!!!!! 

OMG!!! Concussed rage-filled Lassiter vs. arrested, guilty Shawn!!!! My heart was pounding during that entire interaction; I was certain Lassiter was going to lose it and attack Shawn. This was my favorite section of the whole chapter:

The snarky grin seemed to set off a flashpoint inside. The pounding in his head was being matched by his heart as his pulse raced, goaded by outrage that was further fueled by years of irritation suffered at Shawn's hands. A part of him knew that letting their past interactions affect his feelings now wasn't logical, but he'd passed a point of control. The frustration and anger over the attack and Juliet's injury, and of the phantom man, found an outlet in Shawn, standing there in the room with him. He was reachable, an easy target, unlike the shadowy figure that no one else even seemed to believe existed. His fatigue and pain and rattled emotions were starting to spiral, and at the edges of his vision, so was the room. He drew in a breath and skewered Shawn with his glare.


“Did you have something to do with leading O'Hara and me into that attack?” he asked quietly and with a clear note of menace.


Just like out in the booking area, Shawn's expression changed from indignation to guilt. Lassiter knew then, with razor-sharp certainty, that Shawn had done something. His brain wasn't in any condition to contemplate gradations of guilt, however. He stalked forward.


This is so completely perfect! Lassiter really is in no condition physically or even mentally to question Shawn, and it must irk him so badly at the moment about the needling from their past interactions—and Lassiter really can't think clearly about being objective. Plus, it looks terrible with the evidence that has been collected that Shawn really is criminally guilty of these crimes. GUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! Downward spiral! Downward spiral!!!!! *scream*

And how freaking creepy is that?! Morton grinning at Lassiter again—a grin which brings a chill to *Lassiter*!!!! GUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Awesome, awesome chapter!!!!! Can't wait to see how all of this plays out. It's going to get worse for everyone, isn't it? 

 

Reviewer: silverluna Signed [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2010 9:53 pm Title: Chapter 5

The bad guys' happiness at what has happened chills and disturbs me. :O They are serious (and scary) professionals, even making plans to use people in the future. *shudder* And I refuse to have sympathy for Morton or Maxwell, like father like son slime—I'm actually rooting for bad things to happen to those two and all the bad guys as well. lol (Maybe eventually?) Though maybe Maxwell will somehow be Morton's downfall, one way or another. That pair is sort of like "dark side" Henry and Shawn, at least with the father doing so much for the son out of twisted forms of love and expecting gratitude and compliance. 

Yay, Lassiter is awake and demanding to work! But Juliet ... GAH!!! I'm worried about her! :( I hope Vick eventually takes Lassiter seriously about this mysterious man he really really really did see!!! Poor Lassiter. *hugs him* 

Great! Perfect! Love the whole Vick-Lassiter section:

“How the hell can I rest when that bastard is out there,” he hissed. “He did this to her.”


“He did this to both of you,” said Vick. “And we'll track him down and nail his ass to the wall for it, but not tonight.”

WOW. Super powerful:

Lassiter felt a raw pain in his chest as he listened to the chief fill in Henry on Juliet's condition. Each word felt like a splash of alcohol on an open wound. His partner might have brain damage. She might be in a coma, or be put into a coma, or whatever. Coma. It was not a good word. He wished the chief and Henry would've gone outside and left him alone instead of talking about it over his bed like he was some piece of furniture or a sick dog lying on the floor. 

I love that Lassiter barely acknowledges (does he? or does Vick have to sort of "tell" him?) that he was also attacked and injured by this man. All he cares about is what the guy did to Juliet—and how bad she's suffering (or what she could suffer b/c of what he did) and just wants to get out there and find him.  Like this: He couldn't bring himself to worry about the state of his hearing, though. There were too many other things dominating his mind.

I love that Lassiter remembers the man so clearly! I'm glad he has this one thing; it would be so frustrating for him to not be able to remember what the man looked like; this is the way he knows he can help Juliet. By bringing this guy to justice. 

Lassiter-Henry tension! Love Lassiter trying to be civil and not snap; while it seems Henry is there because he feels guilty about Shawn's acts. Whoa, Lassiter is ready to rage at Shawn for his 'vision'. Bad muju-gumbo. I have this feeling that Lassiter might not at nothing to prove Shawn is to blame for what happened. ... Definitely, bad omens.

Whoas, Henry was blown up 25 years prior by Sinclair?! :O Holy crazy cowinkidinks! And I bet the enforcer was Morton too!!  Well, this should be some helpful stuff coming back around for everyone. :)

Once I catch the bastard who did this, he thought, I can at least have the picture of him dead or headed to jail instead. Poor haunted Lassiter!

XD Third season of Veronica Mars!!! meimichan's "favorite". XD XD XD LOLOLOLOLOLOL *snicker* 

I know Shawn was partially to blame for being sloppy and trying to be glory hog, but I feel bad for him. He loves his friends and goes out of his way to help people (even in his silly, childish ways), so it's totally hard to see him (in the calm before the "firestorm") trying to figure out what he probably should have figured out before all of this. Lol, odd Shawn rant over. xD But he has clues! Yay for clues!  

Uh oh, famous last words?


“First of all, I'm not going to get caught,” said Shawn.

 

 

 



Enter the security code shown below: