Reviewer: GirlFromBlackMountain Signed [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2014 6:39 pm Title: Lift Me Up My Soul's So Hollow

Beautiful chapter between father and son.  I never thought Shawn needed Henry's help solving a crime.  He wanted a chance to work with his father and Henry wanted the same.  They would not admit that to each other. 

Reviewer: Kk Anonymous [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2013 1:04 am Title: Since Birth Almost

Can I begin to say AHHHHHH!?! holy MOLY I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS STORY!!!

Reviewer: WallFlower Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2013 8:01 pm Title: Since Birth Almost

Random question...

Are all your stories about either rape or cannibalism?

And is Shawn getting a little bit better, or is he just learning to hide it more?

And one more...

You wrote:

She was behind bars after all...

Is that foreshadowing? Please say that's not foreshadowing.

... but don't lie.

Author's Response: Alrighty, in order of asking:

Question #1: No- not even remotely.  I have 1 story about cannibalism. I have 5 stories involving rape - 4 of which are part of a series . I have 3 stories where rape is threatened- 1 of the stories being a sequel to the other.  I have 130 stories, give or take, that don't involve either of those subjects.  Yes, I've visited this theme more than once but no- not all of my stories involve the subject.  The reason I choose to write about it every once in a while is because a huge portion of the stories I've read on the subject tend to handle it horribly.  At best they don't cover the amount of mental and psychological trauma involved.  At worst, they turn the story into a romance and use rape as an excuse to get the two lead characters together.  Another reason I write these stories is because they trigger a change in a character that no other trauma could.  I want to explore that change and how the character deals with his/ her new reality as well as how the characters around that person react to what happened.  But then, that is why we write fanfic at all.  Nevertheless, the percentage of stories I write that feature rape are less than 7%.  

Question #2: Shawn is learning how to manage better.  Eventually, a victim of assault will rebuild to a new normal.  I've read a TON of material on the subject and there is never going to be a point where you are the person you were before the assault.  However, you can certainly become a happy and adjusted person afterward.  And it is different from person to person.  Some people seem to go on with no noticeable change to their personalities.  Some people become so traumatized they never leave their homes again.  Some people commit suicide.  Shawn is lucky because he has the one thing vital to victims of assault; the support of family and friends.  They haven't given up on him and are helping him every step of the way.  That alone makes a HUGE difference. 

Question #3:  I never reveal future plot points in my stories. (and if I WERE to do such, I wouldn't lie about it.  I find lying pointless and people who do so tend to get caught at it.  Shawn... would be a good case in point - though it DID take many years before Juliet figured it out) :)

Thanks for the questions!

Reviewer: Oinkadoink Signed [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2013 3:43 pm Title: Since Birth Almost

Thanks for updating! I'm a big fan of all your stories--glad you're continuing this one!

Loved seeing Shawn and Gus interact more or less as they used to. The bits where Shawn hissed like a vampire were definitely my favorites :)
I'm sensing a calm before the storm here... can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: fantomfaire Signed [Report This]
Date: December 08, 2013 11:48 am Title: Since Birth Almost

I nearly died laughing at 'lost his marbles years ago'! This was a nice piece of bonding and getting back to normalcy for Shawn. But the baby is due soon and then decisions will have to be made...Thank you for this update - can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: moondragon23 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2013 6:18 am Title: Since Birth Almost

I am so glad you updated this story again. It's been bugging me not knowing what was happening with Shawn.

I really like the reference in here to the vampire episode. That was one of my favorites.

And I'm glad to see Shawn is on the mend. He's not better yet, but he is getting there.

As always, fantastic work.

Reviewer: moondragon23 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2013 8:12 am Title: Swallowing Black Memories

Poor poor Shawn. As if being assaulted like that wasn't bad enough he has to have a child with that psycho. At least now he's finally reconnected with Jules.
I loved Henry's reaction to finding out the truth, especially after what he said to Shawn. I also liked Lassiter's reaction and how hard he's working to keep this psycho locked away. His own feelings of guilt over the situation are understandable and I liked how he was trying to comfort Shawn. Not many people really get Lassiter. Good job.
Really liking the story so far. The characters are spot on and I can tell you really care about them. Please don't leave this story unfinished.
You are an amazing writer by the way.

Reviewer: Post U Later Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2013 11:15 pm Title: Reply Hazy, Try Again

Oh God, No. She's Back, Why? Shawn Just Needs to Punch Her In The Face & Run, Calling The Cops As He Does. Seriously. I Hope He Gets Away From Her.
& What He Told Henry... God Henry Should See The Half-Truth For What It Was. He Should KNOW That There's More To It Than That.

Reviewer: Post U Later Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2013 10:21 pm Title: Only the Black

Oh God, How Horrible! Remembering All Of That. It Would Be One Thing If He Slowly Remember Everything, But All At Once? How Terrible!

Reviewer: Post U Later Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2013 9:46 pm Title: They Bury Their Dead in the Dark

Oh Poor Shawn, Denial Is, I Think, By Far The Worst Of The Five Stages Of Grief. He Needs To Talk About It, Report It, Catch The Bad Guy Who Did It.
...I Just Feel So Bad For Him.



Enter the security code shown below: