Reviewer: dragonnan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2013 1:13 am Title: An Ugly Night in the Neighborhood

I swear, I always need at least a day to prepare myself when I see one of your updates.  No matter how long the wait – I cannot simple burn through one of your chapters.  I have to find a way of centering my soul first.  Because no matter what, I know there will be something terrifying, or wrenching, or agonizing (or every combination of soul exploding) in every paragraph you write.  

I really need to reference back to this first chapter again – seeing the massive change in Shawn is maybe one of the most agonizing things of all.  Because he IS still Shawn.  Even with the sudden dedication to fitness and his adherence, sort of, to a military-like attitude, his personality is still there.  But his whole being is absolutely aching with all that has crushed, not just him, but the whole world.  He's keeping himself and his loved ones alive, but he's no longer really living.  Seeming to be “alive” only in these sense of breathing.

I continue to love the relationship that has built between Shawn and Jake.  There is this precious piece of him kept alive in that child.  I wonder... though the world they now live in would say that all people of every age should know how to kill... that Shawn's need to keep Jake a child has two purposes.  To give Jake those last few moments of innocence... and to give a few back to Shawn.  He can no longer find his joy withing himself – but maybe, with Jake, he can rediscover it.

Just seeing the names of those lost as Shawn floated to earth – Lassie and Jules – was so painful.  I miss them when I read this.  And though she wasn't mentioned by name – the fact that Shawn is equating his parachute jump to a return to the womb means there are thoughts of his mother somewhere in the back of his mind.  More pain.  And, while it hasn't been outright stated, it feels as though Shawn is pulling away from his father in some manner.  Possibly without being aware of it?  Maybe the dynamics are changing so much that they're still relearning how to relate to one another.  Suddenly Shawn is the protector and guardian – a role that Henry has played through most of Shawn's life.  It must be so terrifying to no longer be able to protect his son.

It's got my heart pounding like crazy to read Shawn's moments in the town – and the freaking brilliance of his escape through the house!  I LOVE all of those moments and all the details like the dead plant and the broken door and all those bits and pieces that so vibrantly create this scene.  THAT is what makes you so amazingly gifted – the way you have made this world so REAL that I find myself thinking of it quite often.  Even if I haven't reread this series in months, I'll suddenly just have it in my mind – the scene of Shawn running in terror from Zombie Dumbo or the horrible moment when Juliet was ribbed from his arms or when Lassiter ended his own suffering while Shawn wept in the van.  I feel the same heavy pain in my chest when I remember those moments.

I am a combination of thrilled and terribly stressed as I read this final story – knowing that any character is up for grabs (or dinner...).  But there is no way on earth I would ever NOT read it so I will continue biting my cheek through every update!

I'm so glad to see you again!        

Reviewer: Redwolffclaw Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2013 6:05 pm Title: An Ugly Night in the Neighborhood

Yea! You're still alive!...and writing about dead people...

Loved this whole series an it is a huge awesome surprise that you updated.

Reviewer: fantomfaire Signed [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2013 3:27 pm Title: An Ugly Night in the Neighborhood

You don't know how happy I am to see this update!!!!! Your writing is incredible! I mean this is all description - no dialogue to break it up (mostly because there was no one to talk to) - yet it kept flowing. Thank you so much for coming back to this story - I look forward to reading more soon!

Author's Response:

Thank you, it means a lot. I'm so sorry it took me so long to update but life got in the way and all that, add in a little writer's block, and there you have it. However, I recently got a little inspiration about how to kick things off properly in a way that I liked.

But anyway, I'm ecstatic that you have stuck with me here and I hope to have the next chapter out soon.

Reviewer: fergulousPineapple Signed [Report This]
Date: September 03, 2013 7:48 pm Title: New Seattle

You lied! You said you'd update soon!
I need to know what happens!

Reviewer: fantomfaire Signed [Report This]
Date: March 03, 2013 3:22 pm Title: New Seattle

OMG WHAT A BEGINNING! Man, I am so hooked - like, hook, line and sinker - into this story already! 160 reps - wow, Shawn really is beefing up to be able to withstand the pressures of what he will have to go through to see this through! Sittin' on pins and needles here! Please, please, please update again soon!

Reviewer: Katie Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2012 1:06 am Title: New Seattle

Please come back! I'm dying to see where everything goes from here.

Reviewer: Numbuh24insane Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2012 4:26 pm Title: New Seattle

I'm still mad at you for killing off Lassie, Kuliet, and Buzz. I'll let you off the hook if Gus is still alive. I can't wait for you to be finished.

Reviewer: Spencer05 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 21, 2012 9:21 pm Title: New Seattle

ZOMBIIIIIEEEEE!!!! YOU'RE BACKKK! And with the final installment of the zombie-verse no less!!! I actually did a mental happy dance that I'm glad no one could see because it would've been quite embarrassing ;)

First I have to say: GUS! Yay! Remember when I asked about him?? His mention and potential saving if he's still alive makes me verryy happy :)

This chapter was such a great start. It's not too long, but it's just long enough to be satisfying. (Your stories are never too long for me, just so you know. I can never get enough). It gives just enough info to catch the reader's attention without giving too much away. It let's us draw our own conclusions, but also warns us not to hold on to too much hope. Brilliant!!

I love the visual you give about just how much Shawn has changed; the memories of the jerk chicken and pineapple smoothies, the fact that he is no longer a 'jokester', and his new hobby of working out that the old Shawn never would have picked up. What makes him Shawn is no longer there and he has almost, if not completely, has morphed into a full soldier. (Understandable, though, seeing as the world went to hell)

Jake breaks my heart, plain and simple. He is so young, yet already has the mind of an adult. The world has torn apart his innocence. I do love Shawn and Jake's relationship, though. Shawn calling Jake his son had me smiling from ear to ear. I'm so glad to see some scenes between them.

The comment about 'Mrs. Boring' had me chuckling :) . It's so Shawn.

And so his journey is about to begin. I'm slowly dying inside waiting for the next chapter (not really, don't worry. It's more a ball of anxiety - the good kind ;)). Will he find Gus? What other horrendous monsters and situations await Shawn? How can your brain hold so much genius??I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Reviewer: marniewings Signed starstarstarstarhalf star [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2012 8:45 am Title: New Seattle

Brilliant! Please update soon! can't wait to see what happens!

Reviewer: Lauren Anonymous [Report This]
Date: June 11, 2012 1:06 pm Title: New Seattle

Love it! I've really missed these stories... and I'll squee with glee if Gus is still alive! 



Enter the security code shown below: